Dungarvan Dramatic Club

Dungravan Dramatic Club

Dungarvan Dramatic Club!
Founded on November 7th , 1941, Dungarvan Dramatic Club is an amateur drama group based in Dungarvan,Co.Waterford. For more than 80 years we have suceeded in upholding the aims of our founding members “to foster and develop drama by the production of plays” – the Club has produced well over 100 plays during this time and we are very aware of the heritage which has been entrusted to us and of the significance of our place in the cultural landscape of Dungarvan and its environs.

As well as the production of plays in a number of venues in the local area, (readings/auditions are open to all) the Club has diversified and performed Street Theatre with cast numbers being swelled by the involvement of a number of community groups and indivduals, for whom drama was a new experience (Féile na nDéise, Dungarvan Maritime Festival and Waterford Festival of Food). In recent years we have enjoyed publicly performing rehearsed readings of timeless classics such as THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST and CHARLEY’S AUNT and these have been invaluable in terms of getting new members involved in our club while at the same time supporting the fundraising efforts of Dungarvan Lions Club.We have great fun also just reading plays for our own enjoyment as a group and reading early drafts of new plays should they be submitted to us by writers who would like to hear them read aloud.
The Club has a longstanding link with a group of community theatre enthusiasts in Dungavan’s Sister City , Erie ,Pennsylvania and, as well as performing in each other’s venues, we are currently working on a dramatised audio documentary about Irish involvement in the building of the Erie Canal, which will celebrate its centenery in 2025.
If you like the sound of any aspect of whatDungarvan Dramatic Club is about, please come and join us. We would love to have you on board! Watch this space for updates and info. 

Our History in a book !

Current Committee Members 2023-2024

President Des Feeney

Vice President Pat Power

Secretary Lisa O’Sullivan

Treasurer Siobhan Buckley

P.R.O. Margaret Dennehy

Carol Elstead, Mary O’Neill, Ned Cullinan, Ruaidhri De Paor, Paul Coffey, Orla Glascott, Dave Pollock .